When you’re going through hell.. write a blog

Okay, so having a bit of an itchy time shouldn’t be compared to hell..I agree.

Because hell isn’t real, and my itchy skin is.

I’m 26, I live in London, England, I have a full time job, a fiance, and a skin condition. It’s taken me over a quarter of a century to find out what’s wrong with my body, and I think it’s TSW, and this post is it the start of me documenting how coming off them works. I figured it might help some people to read, but most importantly; it’d help me to write. 

To put this in context (briefly!): I’ve had eczema since I was a kid, and brilliantly learned in my early teens, that splashing on a little Betnovate, Eumovate, Hydrocortisone etc. would keep my skin looking sparkly and nice. Not doing this made my face and inside elbows (inbows?) awful and rank. I diligently applied this, with encouragement and praise form my Doctor/s, for about ten years. and everything was fine. Up until two years ago I was still doing it – if I knew I had a date coming up or a time where people would be around I would buy a tube and use it the week before to clear my skin up. 

Anyway, like everyone else the steroids slowly stopped working – my whole body got bad, the doctor’s told me to use more, and I refused. so as it stands right now (and as I start this blog) I’ve been off steroids for about a month, I’ve been vegan for about 2 years, and I’m due to see a doctor in June for a skin allergy test.

My theory is that if the allergy test says i’m allergic to wheat or sugar (pretty much the only things left to cut out) then awesome, i’ll cut them out, but my skin doesn’t feel like an allergy is causing it – like everyone else I have the same red torso/white hands, and the same weeping hot skin, the same constant sadness at how terrible I look, I haven’t been to the gym for about 6 months and my appearance is making me desperately sad. 

I’m hoping my journey won’t last too long, and I’m hoping TSW is real and that it will fix my skin, because its affecting every part of my life, i’m a lot less productive at work, at lot less patient with stuff, a LOT more anti-social, and a lot less attentive in my relationship – which is the most important thing in the world, and neglecting the girl I want to marry because I can’t function normally due to relentless sore discomfort is killing me.Image

3 comments
  1. Vee said:

    My arm just looked like this a couple days ago. So encouraging to see other people with the same issues as me. Not that I wish it on anyone but it helps you not feel alone! Thanks for blogging! 🙂

    asteroidfreelife.blogspot.ca

  2. Hi there BoyvsSelf! My arm looks the same too. It gets better!! (but then it gets bad again before it gets really better), lol. Saw your post on ITSAN about your blog and had to come visit. I love reading other people’s accounts of TSW, so it is great you started a blog to document your journey. Take lots of pictures as you go! Seeing your progress visually is very encouraging. I am in my 4th month, at over 100 days in, and though my skin is still a wreck in some areas, i’ve seen some good healing. You will get there too and I hope you have a very short and easy ride of the roller coaster that is TSW! Best Wishes from the USA – Ms. EczemaExcellence (www.eczemaexcellence.wordpress.com)

  3. kelly said:

    Hi Boy, I live near London too! So sorry you have to go through this but things will get better, just time, time and more time sadly. Hope your forthcoming holiday is fab,

    Good luck x

Leave a Reply

