I found out where I fit in!

I went on holiday! I was able to hide in plain sight! Last year was quite insane business-wise so I took my fiance to Marrakech for a week to relax – it was amazing! No one questions why the white guy has gone red, not in the 30deg African sun! Sunburn is my alibi.

Now on week 7 of TSW I wondered if anyone could tell me what to expect? In terms of flare ups (and flare downs?) so far it seems pretty consistently terrible, so hoping it will abate soon.

With regards to the sun I learned some things – the organic hemp/geranium oil my fiance has been making (she has no idea how grateful I am) that gives me so much relief at home was too sticky and thick in Morocco – I had to abandon it and switch to good old Aveeno. My skin was pretty terrible but I still put that down to what I think is a mild wheat allergy. Being vegan is hard on holiday so I had to bite the bullet and eat some bread sometimes when there was nothing else – anyway, assuming this wheat caused my skin to become bad – sitting outside in the sun with no suntan cream on for around 45 minutes a day seemed to help SO much, like almost immediately my skin was softer, moister, more supple and free from the bright pink sleeves I have been trying to escape from. I don’t think it was co-incidence, which is a worry, since it’s currently May in London and looks like it’s about to snow. Considering looking into some kind of UV therapy or something, a sunbed once a month would do wonders for me, apart from the inevitable skin cancer, obviously.
 

But anyway! I went away, my skin got awesome, I came back, it got bad. Thems the breaks. I don’t mean to end this on a negative note, but I’m not sure how long I can do this. My whole life is being flipped around and I dont feel like me anymore – no jewellerly, no shirts to work, no zest for anything – I got so much happier when my skin improved, I’d give anything to be that person all the time. I know my girlfriend would too. If the only cure is time then I’ll do it, but i absolutely won’t enjoy it – and maybe the sacrifices that will have to be made over the next two years are too important to lose? What then? She is beautiful and she is perfect, but her patience can’t last forever.

Cheers for readingImage

1 comment
  1. Louise said:

    Sounds like you need another holiday! Hehe

Leave a Reply

